How often do you think trophy flatheads feed?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by flathunter, Mar 1, 2008.

1. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I have been fishing for flats for 25 years and still dont have them figured out.

Some people think that flatheads are always feeding.

Some think if a big ole flat catches him a big fish say 1-2lbs he may not feed agin for a week.

Whats your thoughts?

2. Mike81

Mike81 Well-Known Member

State:
    Alabama
    Any answer I give would just be a guess. I always had the idea when the water was cold they might feed heavy about once a week or so but in the summer I think they are on the hunt every night....

3. catfishcrazy256

catfishcrazy256 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I agree with Mike on this

4. s_man

s_man New Member

State:
    south east ohio
    I can't say what the frequency is. If they only caught a small gill or shad the night before they would probably eat again the next night. I caught a 25lb flat once on a 4lb drum. That flat wouldn't need to eat for two weeks. If it had been a 60 pounder in the summer he could go a week I'd think.
    I have fished a snag I knew had a flat in it, and he didn't hit for days in a row. Then I caught him. Was it because he had eaten earlier in the week? Or eaten something else those nights before he came across my bait and left it alone? Hard to say IMHO.

If anybody tells you he has Flatheads figured out, He's feeding you line lol.

5. neocats

neocats New Member

State:
    Steubenvil
    I don't think they feed constantly or else they would be easier to catch. I think their habits probably resemble our eating habits on Thanksgiving Day. They stuff themselves when they can and then go take a nap.

6. wayne1967

wayne1967 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I bet they eat very often. They are one of the fastest growing fish in north america.

7. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO