?? How Much Weight Do You Guys Use In The River??

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by fishin' addict, Dec 6, 2009.

1. fishin' addict

fishin' addict New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I'm still new to this river fishing and I was wanting to know how much weight on average do you guys use fishing in the river. Also what type of sinkers do you use? Also when fishing on the outside of a river bend... do you guys cast out into the strong part of the current or just outside the heavy current nearer to ths shore?

2. fishmonster13

fishmonster13 New Member

State:
    cincinnati,ohio
    amount of weight you use is going to depend on the rivers current, i've used any where from an ounce this summer when the river was more like a lake and 8oz when its up. i use egg sinkers but a guys use the no roll. hope this helps

3. CatHunter24

CatHunter24 New Member

State:
    Dayton, Ohio
    I use usually 5 oz or 8 oz no roll sinkers on the Ohio. When its down you can use less than 5, but when ordering nad to save money I just get two sizes and use them mainly. Found out recently though that an 8 oz sometimes won't hold in the current on an outside bend....so I may have to try to get ahold of some 12 or 16 oz sinkers like the guys on the Mississippi use frequently.

4. Catfishboy1995

Catfishboy1995 New Member

State:
    Council Bluffs
    i use all the way from...2-8 oz...no-rolls banks and eggs...the eggs i only have 1-3 oz now..but i want to find some 8 oz.ers

I fish the missouri river though!!

5. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro
    I'll echo what's been said. It depends on the flow, or current on the day you are fishing, which changes dramatically from day to day. I use eggs and no rolls from 2 to 8 ounces depending on the above mentioned.

Bill in SC

6. tbull

tbull New Member

State:
    SW Ohio