How many process their own deer?

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by bnt55, Nov 10, 2008.

1. bnt55

bnt55 New Member

State:
    Northern KY
    After talking to a couple of guys and doing quite a bit of internet research I have come to the conclusion that processing my own deer may be an option for me. The local deer processor wants $75 to cut up a deer and after spending $50 on license and tags this little hobby of ours gets really expensive. Is there any tips or ideas I need to think about before I try and butcher my own deer? I have never done one before but it doesnt look too hard....:eek:oooh:

I am going to build a scaffold of sorts in the backyard so I can hang the deer up by the neck or hind legs whichever is easiest and use a cooler with ice water to throw the meat in to allow for blood removal. I do have a vacuum packer and butcher wax paper along with a hand grinder to seal everything up nice and neat. Now all I have to do is get the deer(s)....

Bill

2. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Bill,Home processing is easy,I been doing mine for 30 yrs. I used to cut them just like beef ,bone in,If you have a bone saw this to me is the quickest way. Nowdays ,I just bone it all,Seperate the muscle groups in the hams ,make roundsteaks,any thing that is too small to make a steak,get put in the grind pile,I pkg my ground meat in 5 lb vac seal bags ,But dont grind it till I need to,saves time while butchering.

3. mr.whiskers83

mr.whiskers83 New Member

State:
    Charles City,Va
    My family has processed our own deer for as long as I can remember and it's not that difficult but it can get time consuming. However it is worth it 100% IMO. You always know what has been done to your meat and you know how it's been handled and taken care of, not to mention the lower cost of doing it yourself.