How many people have had luck using live carp?

Discussion in 'ARIZONA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by AZflats, Jun 2, 2006.

1. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    I am new to this, I have always used gills of various sizes when seaking flatheads. But recently have switched to baiting up with live carp on most of my rigs.

Who is currently using carp, and what sizes have you had success with?
    ~ Also, I fish for them in the afternoon with corn. What methods of catching them does everyone else use?
    Thanks!

2. channelcat_tracker

channelcat_tracker New Member

State:
    Iowa
    yea i have success with live carp. the weight ranges from about 1 to 3 pounds. just crack the shell of the carp and set it out. most likely a hungry flatty will be in the area and give the bait a whirl. well i have to tell you that i dont catch too many carp yet i see a BUNCH of them carp!

3. katfishhunter

katfishhunter New Member

State:
    illinois
    Hey those asian carp, or as we call them them jumping carp, is some of the best bait, live or cut, for blues and channels. Havent really got into the flat fishing. Dont know if you have them where you are or not but they are easy to get here, a real pain in the, if ya no what i mean. If you can find the small 3-6 inchers they are the best but any size cut up will do.

4. AZrivercat

AZrivercat New Member

State:
    Arizona
    I havent used too many yet, but like you I am starting too. Corn is my favorite way to catch them, I like to chum with most of the can and then save an inch or so for bait. Ive also caught alot of them on bread and worms, and even some on liver, shrimp, cut bait, and lures. Corn is the ticket though especially for smaller ones. I like to use as light of tackle as possible. They bite well at night too.

5. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    Last week, I caught a 6lb flattie on a 12 inch carp. The bait was more than half the length as the cat...