How long will the spawn go on ?

Discussion in 'LOCAL NEBRASKA TALK' started by slakltrak, Jul 21, 2009.

1. slakltrak

slakltrak New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I pretty sure that the channels are spawning based on the eggs I'm finding as I clean some of the few eater channels we keep. I'm no expert that's for sure, but how long will the spawn go on and will there be a post spawn drop off in fishing?

2. fmb

fmb New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I don't know but its driving me crazy......I started seeing signs of spawning about a month ago...the last flathead I got had old wounds that had started to heal so hopefully its close to over....

3. sattv

sattv New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I caught some 10# channels last weekend in the mighty mo and the bite was slow but strong:eek:oooh:

4. bownero

bownero New Member

State:
    Hastings, Ne.
    From what I know, it all depends on the water temp. anywhere from 72-84 water temp. is the ideal temp. for the catfish to spawn. Males can fertilize up to 4 different nests and in some cases as many as 9! Adverse weather conditions can regulate the spawn too. I would bet the spawn season lasts for around 2 weeks around this area, but the actual spawn time is only 12 hours!! Make sense? It should be about over now and the bite should improve pretty darn quick. Most northern Nebraska lakes, the spawn is still probably going now, but most of the southern lakes and rivers, it should about over now!!

Last edited: Jul 22, 2009
  5. fmb

fmb New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    the places I fish are still S L O W...nothing is bitting at all...they have to be hungry by now...

is this a case of wierd weather affecting the spawn??? or they just full on fingerlings???

everyone that fishes the same spot I do has the same reports...I got leaves falling in the back yard allready!!!! and it hasn't stayed hot or even warm overnite yet...global warming my @ss...

6. sattv

sattv New Member

State:
    Nebraska