How long have you been Flyfishing?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing' started by BigCat4, Aug 19, 2006.

1. BigCat4

BigCat4 New Member

State:
    Quincy,Ill
    Ive been doing it for 4 years now i learned when i was 10 and i didnt think id do anything more fun than that...

You guys?

2. Sentry Dog Man

Sentry Dog Man New Member

State:
    TN
    I started fly fishing when I was 14 and will be 58 in a few days. So, I guess that adds up to 44 years.

I like to catch fish with any method but catching them on the fly rod is my favorite. If ever there was an "art form" or "finesse" in fishing, it would have to be with the fly rod. It is just so graceful to watch to begin with and it seems to captivate so many who observe it in action. But, so many people steer clear of it because they think it is so difficult. Sure, it takes a little time to master but the rewards are well worth it.

Words cannot convey just how it feels when you are casting a well made fly rod that is balanced with the proper line etc. The feel of that line working the rod with minimal work from you is really hard to describe. But, when you get that feel, you know it.

And, the joy it gives you, when you lay out a long line to a feeding fish without hardly placing a dimple on the water, when the fly touches the water and then that fish inhaling your offering in a very natural manner, having not been spooked at all. It is quite exhilirating

3. BigCat4

BigCat4 New Member

State:
    Quincy,Ill
    when i saw my dad and grampa do it it was so cool just how theyd set the fly right next to fish and BOOM! and i see it as a art more than a hobby or sport

4. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)