how i rigged my akwa-lung

Discussion in 'Livewell and Bait Tank Review' started by russ, Jun 18, 2009.

1. russ

russ New Member

State:
    dexter. mo
    Ive been using akwa-lung for a couple yrs. now and just had a new live-well made for my boat. after looking at everything i changed for few things and it made a big diff. in the way it works. i used bigger fittings, and i drilled a bigger hole in the oxygen infuser tapped it , put a fitting on that and run a 5/16 hose out side the tank. i can fill the tank all the way with the infuser under water and it works better than ever. i took pics. of it so you can see just how i did it, and what kind of flow it has now. i turned the the unit so you can see how far the flow goes across the tank. its just one a great product. i had ten fish in the tank sunday all were 12 to 20 pounds, it was very hot and the water out of the ole miss was as muddy as Ive ever seen it, the fish did just fine.

Attached Files:

2. cat tamer

cat tamer New Member

State:
    MO
    Nice looking install Rusty ! I have one on a 80 gallon livewell that saved the day for me in a tournament on lake perry a few weeks ago, I had my fish in a smaller livewell on the boat and prior to weigh in I noticed the fish were in distress and after just 30 minutes in the livewell with the akwalung the fish were back to prime condition and ended up winning the us cats manufactured bait tournament.

3. russ

russ New Member

State:
    dexter. mo
    congrads on the win, for anyone who hasnt tryed or seen one of these units work dont know how good of a job they do.

4. Seth

Seth Active Member

State:
    Owensville, MO
    Do you ever refresh the water in your livewell after the initial fill? I know the awkalung is supposed to filter the scales and junk out of the water as well so I didn't know if you still had to flush the water out with new or not.