How hot is it where you work?

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by Pennsylvaniacatchaser, Aug 5, 2006.

1. Pennsylvaniacatchaser

Pennsylvaniacatchaser Well-Known Member

State:
    Sarver, Pa
    I was just curious how hot it gets where other members work! I work in a paint factory and this past week was just brutal. Temps were as follows: Mon 98*, Tues 99*, Weds 101*, Thurs 99* and Fri 92*. I have to wear a flame retardent uniform, steel toe shoes, hard hat, respirator, apron & gloves. I don't want to sound like a whiner just saying things were pretty tough on the job this week!:sad2:

2. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

Here at BCBS it's a sweltering 72 degrees with low humidity. I used to work part-time as a iron worker/welder in the shop and onsite and brother it was hot if it was 90 degrees outside you could add 10-25 degrees inside are more if your welding and having to preheat your steel.

3. Kyle

Kyle New Member

State:
    Kansas City - Olathe
    Between 100 - 105 all week, with humidity around 85%. I work in an Armory with no AC, would rather be outside so at least I could catch a breeze every now and then.

4. flathead willie

flathead willie Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia
    It's all part of the game for me and has been for years. This week, as always my work and work environment goes to all extremes. While it was 101 degrees the other day I had to work on a roof with no shade to re-attach some flashing that had blown lose in the storm we had a few weeks ago and to re-install some vinyl siding to a chimney (with a yellow jackets nest behind it). After that I went into the basement where it was maybe 65 degrees to install some breakers and replace some wiring.
    The next day I found myself in an attic crawl space doing some wiring when the temp outside was 100 degrees and the temp in the attic was more like 130 degrees with no fans.