How do you dispatch a catfish before cleaning?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by beeheck, Jun 1, 2006.

1. beeheck

beeheck New Member

State:
    Iowa / Missouri
    OK, I'm new to the keeping and cleaning catfish for a meal club and I had a miserable time trying to dispatch the catfish before I cleaned them. I used a metal bar like a tire iron and whacked the poor fish on the head about 10 times and it was still breathing and flopping around. Heck, I even felt sorry for the darn things. There has to be a quick, clean way of doing this but I don't know what it is. I used a hammer the second time and that was a little better but I don't know maybe I'm getting soft in my old age, it just seemed a little.... ahhh... rough? So, how do you kill your catfish before cleaning?

2. steve-o

steve-o New Member

State:
    ohio
    one quick stab in the top of the head, with your fillet knife. kills them in seconds.

3. blindfly69

blindfly69 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    ...........i just clean em......i've never been able to successfully kill one before cleaning so i just clean it on the spot

4. mwhham

mwhham New Member

State:
    kentucky
    shot them in the head with a shotgun lol

5. teaysvalleyguy

teaysvalleyguy New Member

State:
    GC, OHIO
    Tip of the knife on top of the head. You hit that spot and will kill em almost instantly.

6. fishnfool68

fishnfool68 New Member

State:
    Near Tulsa Oklahoma
    Right in the middle of the head real hard with the hammer.When thier fins strightin out and the tail twitches the fish will never feel anything again.I believe this to be the most humane way other than the 12gage-lol.I'm sure it's less messy than the gun:big_smile:

7. Flamekeeper

Flamekeeper New Member

State:
    Louisville, Ken

I agree ,one smack with the side of a 26oz eastwing will straighten them out ready for the filet Knife. Here is a couple pic's

Attached Files:

8. field989

field989 New Member

State:
    east central indiana