How do you Compare baits

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by Bigun, Apr 4, 2007.

1. Bigun

Bigun New Member

State:
    Burnet, TX
    Given that catfish will at some time eat nearly anything how do you compare baits. I have been making a punch bait for going on four years now. The recipe was given to me by a friend. I have posted here in the past, and given it to others. I also try other baits that I run across.

For the sake of discussion here lets consider Danny King's. There are three versions avaliable here locally. They are Original, Blood and Garlic. I think Danny King's are the best baits avaliable commercially. I can not discerne any substancial difference between the three. How do you compare baits. On one of my not so good fishing days I stoped to visit with a local fishing guide who was rolling things up after fishing near me. He had a large group and they had limited out using Cheap turkey weiners soaked in vanilla. That day this was an outstanding bait. I have tried it a few times and it works a little but it is not the stellar performer it was that day. One of the threads concerning testing bait on a trot line in Florida found sharp cheddar cheese the best in the summer but not so good in the winter. I have tested some baits on jug lines where we had out enough to be be stastically valid. The conditions here were the same but the answers might be somewhat different at another time as indicated by the Florida test. I have a friend that fishes a lot and only uses Lewis king's bait with a little cheese added. He likes the blood version better than the plain one.

How do you Compare baits?

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY