How do I catch skipjack

Discussion in 'Skipjack Herring' started by nightowl, Jun 14, 2007.

1. nightowl

nightowl New Member

State:
    Vicksburg,Mississippi
    im from vicksburg, mississippi and im new to the boc. I was wandering if anyone could help me with boating some skipjack. I have a castnet. i need to know where to go to catch em'. any info would be a world of help.

2. TOPS

TOPS New Member

State:
    Cabot,Arkansas
    Nightowl, castnets are no good for catching skips, they are to fast, the only ones I have seen caught in a castnet were caught by accident. I use a rod rigged with crappie jigs two to three on the line. A sibiki rig will work well at times.

3. TOPS

TOPS New Member

State:
    Cabot,Arkansas
    By the way welcome to the B.O.C. Do you fish the Mississippi river?

4. nightowl

nightowl New Member

State:
    Vicksburg,Mississippi
    i do fish the mississippi and i thank you for the welcome

5. Arkansascatman777

Arkansascatman777 New Member

State:
    AR
    Welcome to the brotherhood Morgan. Listen to Top, he is steering you in the right direction.

6. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    Welcome to the BOC! Top's right. Look for the skippies where there's fast current: below dams/powerhouses; places in dikes where the water is pouring through; off the ends of dikes; where another stream joins the main stream. When you do find some, take careful note of the way the current looks, then check out any other spot where the current looks similar. In the winter, any spot where warm water enters the cold water can be a good spot.

Start with a fast retrieve near the surface. If necessary, adjust speed, add some jerks, fish deeper, change colors. Most of the time, color doesn't seem to matter that much, but sometimes using the right color is the key.

7. nightowl

nightowl New Member

State:
    Vicksburg,Mississippi
    THANKS FOR THE TIPS MR. JERRY I CANT WAIT TO GO TRY THEM:big_smile:

8. DemolitionMan