How do I catch bait in the mississippi river

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by Rusty, Aug 6, 2006.

1. Rusty

Rusty Member

State:
    Spickard Missouri
    I have looked on the Internet for info about fishing and this sight is by far the best one I have ever been on. I have read a lot of the articles and have learned a lot. I am new to the sight and would like some info on how to catch large bait for Flatheads out of the Mississippi river. I have never fished the Mississippi. I am planning a fishing trip to the Lagrange Mo. area in the middle of sept. Hows the fishing that time of year? I do fish the Missouri river around Brunswick,Miami. Mo. I catch shad with a through net. any help will be appreciated.

2. MississippiJugHead

MississippiJugHead New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I fish the Mississippi near Elsberry MO and I get goldfish at the local bait shop. They are not cheap at $4.50 a dozen but I figure if I can spend that much on beer why not bait too? Bass Pro Shops in St Charles sells goldfish at $8/dozen and another St Charles bait shop had them at $11/dozen so maybe my price is a bargain.
    I asked the lady in the bait shop what the locals use to catch bluegill and she looked at me with a look that said the locals go after bigger things than the bluegill.

3. blackhorse83

blackhorse83 New Member

State:
    missouri
    When I fish up there I try to get shad near the damns, or at the mouths of small creeks. I don't go quite that far north but I do know some people who live there and they catch a lot of fish there.

4. Ol Man

Ol Man New Member

State:
    Illinois
    You should have the river mostly to yourself then, Rusty... Most everyone else will be goin' to the National Gathering at Kenlake about that time...:lol:
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M.A.D.D.: Midgets Against Desk Drawers.

5. Rusty

Rusty Member

State:
    Spickard Missouri
    Thanks for the help. I hope to go to the Mo. gathering next year . Thanks again.

6. fishhunter