How did you come to choose your rig?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by loppdawg69, Aug 22, 2007.

1. loppdawg69

loppdawg69 New Member

State:
    California
    I have been fishing for roughly 20 years now. Since the beginning my dad showed me a rig that used a weight at the bottom 2 hooks spaced a foot apart and then a swivel to connect it to your main line (see surfrig.jpg below). I know these are commercially available, and you can just attach hooks, but i prefer to make my own leaders. I have only fished this way, and here in the Bay Area of CA, i have only seen other people fish this rig. Now that i have been frequenting catfish1, I notice that the carolina is almost the exclusive rig of choice (example below). Now this may be that the carolina is more suited for larger southern cats or heck any number of reasons that i just may not know. My question to all the anglers out there is what is your rig of choice and how did you come to choose it? Furthermore, have you ever used the surf rig that I described above?

Attached Files:

2. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    The main reason I use a carolina type rig is so when the fish takes the bait, they don't feel the weight of the sinker. I would love to use a double hook set up, but fishing a lot of current and a river bottom full of rocks and other debris, the extra hook is one more thing to get snagged. And God forbid, what if you ended up with a 60# blue on each hook at the same time.:eek:oooh:

3. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

State:
    MO
    I almost never use a Carolina rig - I fish rivers and don't like the idea of 6 or 8 oz no-roll sinkers sliding up and down the monofilament, abrading it and potentially leaving me open to a lost fish.

Instead, I use a rig similar to your "surf" rig. It's essentially a 3-way rig, minus several knots and all the swivels.