How big can flathead catfish get?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by spanishcatman, Nov 25, 2006.

1. spanishcatman

spanishcatman New Member

State:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone - I'm new to the BOC; there's some really interesting posts. I've got to ask: just how big can a flathead get in ideal growing circumstances? Are they potentially bigger than the blues or just faster growing? Flatheads seem more stocky than the wels we have here in Europe and they definitely appear to weigh more than wels for the same length.

Thanks in advance for your responses.
    Mike :)

2. FishBrew

FishBrew New Member

State:
    North Texas

3. spanishcatman

spanishcatman New Member

State:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Fishbrew - from what I've read those top weights might be a little conservative - or are some of these stories just exaggeration do you think?

4. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
  5. FishBrew

FishBrew New Member

State:
    North Texas
    Not sure how things work or what's the norm across that big salty pond between us, but over here, anytime you see an official record, the phrase you should say with it is, "that has been reported and recorded."
    Can't say how rare, but it has to be fairly rare and can be difficult for a fish to get reported to the proper state fish and game authorities. And once that is done, it can be another matter for them to recognize it as a record. These laws/rules vary from state-to-state. It's not umcommon for the rules for reporting a record and having it count actually prevent folks from wanting to make a claim. Tackle or technique limitations on how it was caught can be an issue as well.
    For example, depending on the state a fish may have to be:
    Alive and released when measured. Keeping it alive and/or releasing it may be an issue for some.