hooking baits

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by MillvaleMauler, Aug 12, 2009.

1. MillvaleMauler

MillvaleMauler New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    I'm new to targeting cats, i've caught them over the years by dumb luck but only recently i've been setting up strictly for them (don't think i'll look back either haha). I've only used creek chubs as bait so far and i plan on trying bluegill soon. I hook them through the eyes and then right under the dorsal fin, and it's working out pretty well for me, i was just wondering if any of you guys would recommend a different way to hook the bait.

thanks

2. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Welcome to the BOC brother. Well no those are really the only best ways to hook em.. to stay lively longer, you can check in the member library for strict detailed information on this sport. We also have several great BOC members on here that will post to this thread and help you out. Were glad to have you and hope you find everything you need. Hope those bluegills bring ya some hosses, and if your lookin' for the most detailed info on catfishin' youve sure picked the right place! Enjoy it and start postin man - AJ

3. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    Here is a few ways I hook bait...welcome to the BoC.

dorsal fin= fishing straight under the boat or on a bobber. Used w/live.

behind anal fin= for live bottom fishing

Eyes= use on bottom or under a bobber. I keep in mind they will die soon.

Brain/skull= For dead baits, especially if I'm using frozen bait or herring. It's most solid part of any bait, followed by the eyes.

Nose= usually do this while using thinner wire hooks and live herring.

-Jim-

4. kitsinni

kitsinni New Member

State:
    Ohio