Hook color preference

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by Zing, Jul 28, 2007.

1. Zing

Zing Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I am new to BOC and was wondering if anyone has noticed a differance in the color of hooks that they have used. I really like the red one (1st), bronze (2nd), silver as a last choice. What are your opinons on this?

2. dewboy24us

dewboy24us New Member

State:
    Missouri
    welcome to the BOC. color of the hook doesn't matter as much as how sharp it is. but the red ones do look cool...lol.

3. littlebigman

littlebigman New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I dont think color really madders but i have cought a lot of fish on red hooks. I think it is how sharp the hook is and not the color :)

4. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    First of all and foremost....Welcome to the BOC!!!!

Now to your hook question!
    Red hooks are just that, RED! They are designed to catch fishermen (eye catcher)
    Bronze hooks are to thin and wirey, Not strong enough and are easily straightened by large fish!
    Stainless(silver) hooks are very tough and if you can find a brand that has sharp stainless hooks. Eagleclaw makes a good one.
    I use 7/0 to 10/0King Kahles, all eagleclaw. If the fish are hammering the bait, I will sometimes use a dreaded circle hook in a Gamma 8/0.

5. PhillyCatcatcher4

PhillyCatcatcher4 New Member

State:
    S.W.Phila.,Penn.
    Welcome to the BOC Rich. I've tried mixing up the colors, and it made no differnce to me.:doubt::0a22:

6. catchinghogs

catchinghogs Well-Known Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    MY question for red hooks is well if you buy the cajun red line it says on the package that red is the first color to disapeer under water. So why do hooks come red wouldnt they just disapeer under the water also . Just a thought.

7. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    Richard welcome to the BOC!

8. Cherokee

Cherokee New Member

State:
    Salyersville,Ke