homemade 55 gallon drum bait tank???

Discussion in 'Livewell and Bait Tank Review' started by billiamcat, Jun 11, 2008.

1. billiamcat

billiamcat New Member

State:
    MO
    How many of you have made these tanks? I am new to catfishing, but am fishing on Truman Reseviore, and fresh shad seem to be a must. I cant keep the shad alive very long, and by the time I get where I want to fish it seems all shad are dead only leaving me an hour and a half or so of good fishing. Anyways I want to put a bilge pump on my bait tank, can anyone else give any insite as too how well this has worked for them. Thanks Billiam

2. MSgtCatfish

MSgtCatfish New Member

State:
    Alabama
    Bill,

You can build a good one from a drum just remember a few things:

(from an earlier post of mine) A few notes on how I keep my gizzard/threadfin shad and/or blueback herring alive. Good aerator and filter. I have a nozzle to keep the water rotating and the gizzard shad "schooling", if the water and bait ain't circling it ain't good. Add rock salt (box per 30 gallons) to the water, ACR (ammonia chlorine remover), and some shad alive/keep alive (usually blue or green - whatever your flavor). The other thing to keep in mind is water temperature. If you have bait in 70 degree water and swap them to hotter or colder water by more than 10 degrees or so, it shocks the fish and could kill them. I picked these tips up from a buddy who only striper fishes and he has kept his gizzies alive for months on the back of his boat bait tank. Heck one time he drove from 200 miles from GA to AL and from all the splashing on Bama's great interstate roads, lost 3/4 of his water and the gizzies were still kickin'!

Last summer I kept 3 dozen blueback herring alive for a week while prefishing for a tournament on Hartwell. I threw a bunch back that were still alive.