High Rock boat ramp @ #8

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by CarolinaCats, Feb 24, 2008.

1. CarolinaCats

CarolinaCats New Member

State:
    Rural Hall
    All you high rockers got a few questions for ya.

Is the boat ramp off hwy #8 useable now with the water levels?

And is it safe place to park your vehicle while your fishing?

Finally is it open 24 hours?

Im new to boating and want to sneak down in the evening and fish late. Dont know nutt'n bout where to fish or where to get bait. I just wanta fish!

Any better suggestions about ramps<coming from Winston-Salem> and such would be greatly apreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help.

~Teddy

2. mhedrick

mhedrick Member

State:
    NC
    To answer your questions

1: Boat ramp usable? Yes, High Rock is almost full pond. Hwy 8 ramp is good even when H-R is down 15'. A better question might be: Can I get everywhere I want to go given the current water level?

The tressle at Hwy 8 is pretty low to the water, if you have a high console, tee-top, pontoon, ect you may not be able to get under. It shouldn't be a problem though.

2: Safe? Yes, it is a very nice faciility, with lots of activity. Usually the ones you have to worry about are the ramps that get very little use (fewer eyes).

3: 24 Hrs? As far as I know it is. They used to lock the parking lots (seperate from ramp) but I have not seen them locked in a long time.

4: Bait? Use your depth finder and look from the ramp all the way back to the bridge. Usually there will be a few large schools there. Sometimes they are so thick near the bridge, they will "black out" the depth finder.