Help with trolling motor for drifting in the MO

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by kfin, Jul 7, 2017.

1. kfin

kfin Member

State:
    MO
    Name:
    Keith
    I am trying to plan and figure out what I need to save up for a trolling motor for my new old boat to be able to effectively drift fish in the MO river current. I currently have a 45 lb thrust bowmount, or a 55 lb thrust transom mount. Neither of these is going to do the job I don't think. My boat is a 1648 Lowe River Jon with a 30 hp Tohatsu tiller. My calculations of weight of motor, boat, gas, battery, gear and 2 people is about 1250 lbs. I am leaning heavily toward the Minnkota Terrova. It looks like it comes in 80 and 112 lb thrust. I don't want to be undergunned for the river, but don't want to waste a bunch of cash either. Would this size boat need the 112? Or would the 80 work in the Missouri?

There are a huge array of choices on options. I am just beginning my search as it will take a while to save up for it. I have a Helix 10 G2 so will probably be interested in the auto pilot or something like that also.

What do I need to get? What options are worth the money. Heck, by the time I'm done I will have as much in the trolling motor and Helix as I do the boat and motor. I love the boat though, it is the perfect size for 2 of us to go out in and still small enough to put into any small river around here.

Thanks for any advice, enlightenment, and experience.
    Keith

2. wadekaminski

wadekaminski Well-Known Member

State:
    MO - Missouri
    Name:
    Wade
    I ran a Minnkota Powerdrive V2 70lb thrust on my 16' bass tracker with no problems. The 24volt 80lb Terrova with ipilot (not link) will work well for you. Remember you are only trying to cut the speed in half or so when drifting.