Help with Toyota

Discussion in '4X4 Truck Talk and Repairs' started by kkyyoottee, Oct 4, 2007.

1. kkyyoottee

kkyyoottee New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I know its un american but I have a chance to buy a 87 toy 4x4 for 200 bucks!!! The motor is shot but my question is will any 4 banger toy motor work ? Thanks for help!!

2. Ketch

Ketch New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    Buy a Chevy!!!!!!!!!! lol no clue really if the 4 will work from any.

3. cantstopgrandma

cantstopgrandma New Member

State:
    MD
    I'm no mechanic by any stretch of my imagination, but.... With the right amount of "engineering" any 4 banger should work. Maybe give Advance Adapters a call or look here: http://www.advanceadapters.com/

They have a lot of adapters for a lot of non-stock applications. Big with the 4x4 community. I would imagine with the right adapter to make the transmission bolt to the block would work....maybe an input shaft adapter also?

Anyway, check them or any company like them out, they may be able to steer you in the right direction.

4. jason454ci

jason454ci Active Member

State:
    Zanesville, Ohi
    It has to be a 22RE engine to work with all the computer stuff.

5. psychomekanik

psychomekanik New Member

State:
    Illinois
    it could have the 20 or 22re engine. basically the same engine. they're easy to rebuild, and lord forgive me for saying so. they're dependable..

6. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    I would say its a 22r being the 4wd. I would stick with that myself. I would call around the junk yards for prices. I also would open up that tranny before anything else. That $200 truck might end up costing $2,200 or better before it goes fishing.

7. psychomekanik

psychomekanik New Member

State:
    Illinois