Help with sinkers

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by ravenloft420, Mar 1, 2007.

1. ravenloft420

ravenloft420 New Member

State:
    mo
    as alot of you know Im new to the river fishing scene. I have a few questions about sinkers for you master catfishers.

1. what type (shape) are the best sinker for medium/heavy current.

2.how big should they be?

3.exactly how do I make a carolina rig?

4.what are tire weights?? I am going to buy a sinker mold and have heard that tire weights are good and cheap or free. are they something I can get at a junkyard?

5.hahaha you guys are great and I look foward to any and all advice.

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    Flat no rolls if ya are gonna use a carolina rig. Stock up on 3 to 6 ounce ones. Carolina rig is as follows. Put the no roll sinker on your main line, then a bead or piece of rubber tubing not to fat. Tie on your swivel. Tie your leader with the hook to the swivel. Bingo! A carolina rig is born. Bait hook and catch fish. LOL!

3. ravenloft420

ravenloft420 New Member

State:
    mo
    hey thanks brother. are there alot of other types of rigs? what do you prefer?

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Flat sinkers hold better in current. They may slide along the bottom, but just a small mud crease will allow them to hold. Sinkers of this type are the no-roll, flat-bank, no-snag, and river sinkers. You may also include a pyramid sinker in this classification although it is not flat. Round sinkers, such as egg sinkers, bank sinkers, bell sinkers, will generally roll in current - and are not favored by fishermen. Another sinker used in current is a claw sinker... this is shaped like a bank sinker but has six or eight wire prongs which stick out and hook on obstructions. When you pull on the line, the wire prong may straighten out allowing you to retrieve your rig.