Help with side imaging/Sonar fish I.D.

Discussion in 'Gateway Catfishing Club' started by Ol Swampy, Apr 2, 2008.

1. Ol Swampy

Ol Swampy New Member

State:
    Festus Mo.
    If anyone has any experience with side imaging or has any input on I.D.ing fish let me know what I'm looking at. I know that some of these are asians and am getting the hang of telling them from non scaled fish. I think! Some of these are cats on the bottom. I guess my question is what differences are you seeing for sonar colors from scaled fish to non-scaled fish.

[​IMG]

Thanks,
    Jon

2. gottagetabigun

gottagetabigun New Member

State:
    OKLAHOMA
    bought a color locator about a month ago. studied some on them. catfish show up yellow as they don't prduce as strong a signal as a scaled fish. which show up more red/blue. i am still learning but i do find yellow fish close to the bottom and we are catching some. hope this helps. i'm sure there are people on here that know a lot more than i.

3. dougc

dougc Active Member

State:
    Independen
    Did you buy a Lowrance or a Humminbird? On the Lowrance, yellow shows the densest or hardest surfaces which probably aren't catfish. In the holes that I fish, most of the suspended fish show up as yellows(carp & other fish), while fish I find near the bottom will show blue and black(catfish).

Here's one of the best sites you'll find on operating a Lowrance.

http://www.hightechfishing.com/colorline.html

4. Michael Jake

Michael Jake New Member

State:
    Troy, Missouri