HELP with a baitcaster

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by matt, Sep 23, 2005.

1. matt

matt New Member

State:
    Anderson SC
    I have a shakespeare skp 2000c baitcaster on a 7 foot ugly stick.
    is this a good real for catching big cats on?
    And what am i doing wrong every time i cast it i get a bird nest so PLEASE TELL WHAT AM I DOING WRONG

2. matt

matt New Member

State:
    Anderson SC
    is there anybody that will help me out

3. elshale

elshale New Member

State:
    Snellville, Georgia
    baitcasters are tickie you have to get use to the brake.What I do is when I cast I keep my thumb lightly on the line as it is running so it wont over spin then when it hits the water I but my thumb all the way down to stop it. Hope this helps. I am no baitcaster expert. Take it easy

4. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

State:
    MO
    Adjust the casting brake so that your line just barely feeds out with the baited rig hanging off the end of the pole. It should drop very slowly. Then when you throw it, keep your thumb lightly over the spool and be ready to stop it when your bait hits the water.

If you change the weight of your bait rig, you need to readjust the brake.

5. elshale

elshale New Member

State:
    Snellville, Georgia
    thanks I think you helped me out too didnt know how to adjust brake

6. derbycitycatman

derbycitycatman Well-Known Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Name:
    your first name
    Wanted to add something to what Mr T said. When the line feeds out slowly it should be able to hit the ground and then stop without a backlash. I would also suggest loading up with some cheapo line and practice with that. No sense backlashing with expensive line.