HELP!!! please

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by veryama1975, Feb 13, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    We just got our tax return & I'm going to get another reel (I hope...wife doesn't know it yet.) I'm new to baitcasting & I just got myself an Abu Garcia 6000 at Wal-mart. I love it and I want another Abu.

From everything that I have read I think that I want an abu 6500. However, there are so many variations on the 6500 that I'm not sure which one to get. I'd like advice on precisely which 6500 to get or advice on some other abu that you think is best (I want to stick with just Abu Garcias for now.)

Also, I've got an 8ft 2-piece Ugly Stik for my primary cat rod. I like it but would like to get something even better & more durable in the $150 price range on down (preferably less than $100). I want my new rod to be 8ft or longer. I like the looks of the Catfish Safari rods but they are one piece. I know 1-piece is probably better & more durable than 2-piece but I don't want a 1-piece because it would be just too long & awkward for me to transport. If Catfish Safari came out with a good 2-piece rod, I'd be a lot more interested.

Thank you very much for any help!
    :big_smile:

2. s_man

s_man New Member

State:
    south east ohio
    Matt, If you want a heavy duty reel for flatheads, that you can also use for 1 pound channels, get a 7000 ABU. If you absolutely have to have a two piece rod, get a catt maxx. I have seen and casted them. They are very sturdy, well constructed rods. I use 7ft 6 inch rods from bank and boat and do not need anything longer.

Don't limit yourself to one length of rod or one type of reel before you try a few others. Hook up with a couple guys around where you live and see what they have and use. Don't waste your money on something you will have to replace in a year or 2.

3. Reel_Blues

Reel_Blues New Member

State:
    Virginia