Help out us newbies

Discussion in 'LOCAL PENNSYLVANIA TALK' started by mikeozo, Jul 1, 2009.

1. mikeozo

mikeozo New Member

State:
    PA
    I guess I am not a newbie, but to serious big catfishing, I am. I have fished SW PA for +20 years....I am currently 31.

I have really got interested in targeting bigger cats, Flatheads in particular. I have found a great deal of info on the site already from you guys and you have all been helpful. Especially with bait.

I also recently obtained a 21' Sea Ray so I will now be able to hit the Monongehela River instead of just bank fishing.

My questions are mostly dealing with gear, rigs and terminal tackle. I grew up using hook and split shots on everything and maybe a slip sinker. I was hoping I could hear some advice on complete set ups for river fishing....Rod n Reels, Line weight and type, and what kind of rigs...And a picture of how you set up your favorite rig would be awesome. I would also like to know how you guys hook different baits like blue gills, chubs, etc.

I am not trying to steal anybodys way of doing things, but I want to get started on the right track if I am going to put the time and money into it.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

2. stoney53

stoney53 Well-Known Member

State:
    PA
    welcome to the BOC south western pa here ,your get alot of info from people here , great people here willing to help

3. Jollymon

Jollymon Well-Known Member

State:
    Wilm .N.C
    MIKE WELCOME TO THE B.O.C. the best site on the web. Check out quick links at top of page FAQ ,also check the members library,lot of info in there:wink:

4. alpal16

alpal16 New Member

State:
    Philly, PA
    First, welcome to the BOC, Mike, and congrats on the new boat. I am by no means that experienced, but I can give you a rundown on what I use and how I use it. I am targeting flats in my local river and have had some success (and lots of failures), so I will let you know what I do.