Help Needed: Ice Fishing for channel catfish

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by martinman, Dec 22, 2006.

1. martinman

martinman New Member

State:
    Clinton, Iowa
    Okay, to some this may sound like an extremely crazy thought.

I live in Northern Arizona and lately we have had some pretty cold temps. Local lakes have frozen over almost completely. Old timers have mentioned ice fishing years ago for pike in some of the lakes in the area.

What are the chances of catching channel cats during the winter ice fishing? I have never tried it before, but am curious to see what would happen. The lake that the pike are in is about 30 feet deep. I am sure that mid January the ice would be safe.

I read an article in In-Fisherman (Ice Fishing Special) about someone catching a 23lb or 26lb channel while ice fishing. I know that decent channels have been caught out of the lake during the summer here. As the food supply drops off during the winter, do you think the cats would go dormant or continue to feed?

I am seeking advice on this one as it is way out in left field for me on this. Thanks in advance to someone who may have tried this before.

Ryan

2. Pennsylvaniacatchaser

Pennsylvaniacatchaser Well-Known Member

State:
    Sarver, Pa
    Ryan - There is a thread started on ice fishing for catfish under the "All Catfishing" section!

3. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Yes, catfish can be caught through the ice. Like almost all fish, they still have to eat even in the winter. Catfish being voracious predators are no exception. They are actually "relatively" quite active under the ice and will compete agressively for available food when schooled in larger groups.

Flagstaff is a great area - love the skiing ! Where are you catfishing down there ?

4. martinman

martinman New Member

State:
    Clinton, Iowa
    Guys,

Thanks for the help...I am sure it will be a month or so before I could do this but I am really interested in trying.

Ryan