Help me quit smoking!

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by Netmanjack, Jan 22, 2008.

1. Netmanjack

Netmanjack New Member

State:
    Ohio
    OK friends, I'm going to give it a try. I have been smoking for over forty years. I have been cutting down over the last year hoping to make it easer. My good old Dr.( who thought I had already quit because I didn't smell so smoky) ask me if I wanted the help of a newer drug called CHANTIX. I agreed and was grateful for the help. I started my program yesterday and have a quit date set for Jan 28. Has any one succeeded with this approach? Don't tell me all of the bad things it can do to you I have already seen it on the news.lol Every pill I take has the same ones! lol. OK I'm not joking, I have heard that you need some support in this kind of endeavor. I have some wonderful grandchildren, and I want to be around for a while, they need me...:wink:

2. Cheryl

Cheryl Well-Known Member

State:
    TN
    Good luck, Jack! There are several here that have used that and quit. Hope they respond to you. You might want to do a search for Chantix, and see what posts you come up with, here.

I need to quit too, but not right now. I've been smoking for 35 years.

Good luck!
    Cheryl

P.S. I know that insurance companies don't usually pay for any new drugs without prior authorization, but seems to me they would WANT to help with this one. I haven't heard of any that do yet. Anyone else?

3. flathead willie

flathead willie Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia
    I started on Chantix a couple weeks ago and so far it's been great. I think this will be my time to quit. After it gets in your system, 1-3 weeks, it takes away the cravings. It's still hard to drink my coffee in the morning without one, but the one I had this morning is all I've smoked all day. Good luck with your program.

4. Plowboy411

Plowboy411 New Member

State:
    Georgia