help me pick which mono

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by FATDAD, Aug 11, 2009.

1. FATDAD

FATDAD New Member

State:
    Mount Sterling,
    i am new to catching flatheads or any big fish:smile2: i am trying to find a good mono in 30# or 40# i have tried cajen red and exel did not like either i fish mainly lakes and i use 6500s if that matters thanks

2. brownie525

brownie525 New Member

State:
    Nj
    berkley big game:cool2:

3. LOWCOUNTRY CATMAN

LOWCOUNTRY CATMAN New Member

State:
    sc
    For what its worth I have 12lb Ande tournament mono on my 6500 with a long 20lb topshot,also Ande tournament mono.It is the best mono I have used hands down.Zero memory and much more resistant to rubs and breakoffs.

The big Cajun red is good for leaders.....I use the 50lb on my big rod
    along with Ande 20lb tournament as a main line.

4. Jollymon

Jollymon Well-Known Member

State:
    Wilm .N.C
    Charles i like AN 40 IN A 25LB TEST it usest to be called silver thread ,but it is a small dia,line an very absion restant ,also u can get a spool of 3000 yards i think it is for around 35.00 dollars off ebay

5. LMHart

LMHart New Member

State:
    Oklahoma City
    BBG

6. Jollymon

Jollymon Well-Known Member

State:
    Wilm .N.C
    i like AN40 line it was name silver thread when i started using it ,it is a coplymar line cast good ,small dia,an very resistant to cut an knickes ,also u can gett like a 3000 yard spool for around 30 dollars

sorry for the double post i thought i lost the first one :embarassed:

Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  7. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I would suggest Berkley Big Game Solar. Great stuff and easy to see.[/B]

8. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I use berkly big game in 25-lb test for flatheads

9. Johnny B

Johnny B New Member

State:
    illinois
    is power pro considered a mono since it's braided micromono?

10. BassMassey

BassMassey Well-Known Member