Help me pick a rod?

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by elphaba7, Aug 30, 2005.

1. elphaba7

elphaba7 New Member

State:
    Mo'town, WV
    Hi guys, I'm new to the sport, new to the site. I'm getting a new pole setup this winter, and would like your valued opinions on which I should get. I'd like a 7' casting rod, and have narrowed my reel choices down to: Shimano Curado 100B, Team Daiwa S, or Abu Garcia Ambassadeur. Most of my fishing will be done in the same body of water, from the river that runs into the lake, to the tailrace. Either from shore or pier. I have two Shakespeare combo's from Wally, one 5' spinning reel, and a 6' spincast. I'm trying to round out my gear with something a little more quality. Right now, I'm fishing as much as possible, for whatever I can, but have realing been leaning toward nightfishing and cats. Remember, I'm very new to everything, and am still learning, please be forgiving! Thanks in advance for your help, this is a great site!

2. stickthrower

stickthrower New Member

State:
    Possum Kingdom Lk, TX
    First you can't go wrong with an Ambassadeur reel, I would suggest a 6000 series (about $50-65.00 depending on where you buy new) just because of the "bait clicker" which in not available on the newer 5000 series. It's hard to beat an Ambassadeur, or for less money try a Shakespear Tidewater 20 or 30L (for about $35-40.00) For a rod I would suggest either an Ugly Stick Tiger 7'MH (about $55-60.00) or better yet an ABU "Brute" 7'MH for about $20.00. Either way you can't go wrong! Both rods and reels are great. Prefer the Ambassadeur personally, however that's my .02 cents worth.

Good luck with what ever you decide!
    Frank

3. ryang

ryang Well-Known Member

State:
    Blacklick, Ohio
    Name:
    Gary
    You could get an Ugly Cat also at wally worlds for about 30$ M/H it is white works real good with my 6500c3.

4. stickthrower

stickthrower New Member

State:
    Possum Kingdom Lk, TX
    Ryang,