Help In Outfitting a Grizzly 2072

Discussion in 'Boating' started by Shootandfish1, Sep 23, 2007.

1. Shootandfish1

Shootandfish1 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    New guy here-Found this site by accident last night while researching jon boats. I had to post 10 times in order to view pictures. I've spent so much time here that my eyes have had to rested several times today.

I have very little experience with boats and could really use some advice. This will be a long post. I'm sure that some of my ?'s will be very, very stupid to most of you.

Most web site discussions concentrate on bass boats, pleasure, ski, or something else besides a good fishing boat.

I have settled on a Grizzly 2072 for several reasons. I want to fish the smaller rivers and streams here in central Kentucky, but mainly for central Florida. I recently retired and may spend more time in Florida (Relocate or Snowbird) and I'm sure that south Georgia and Alabama has lots of water that would suit me. Big water and bigger lakes are ok too, but I have no desire to be on the water on windy days. Most of my fishing is with live bait for bluegills,ect. and last spring I caught several channel cats while in Florida and I now understand what all the fuss is about. I want a stable boat that can be used in shallow water.

About an hour from me is a Tracker dealer. Several people have told me that this dealer has excellent 'after the sale' customer service. This dealer also sells Mercury motors exclusively. I havn't been to the dealer yet, I would like to learn more about the choices I have so that I have some clue what will and will not work for me. So far the plain jane version is the most appealling to me over the 'loaded' models.

Horse power-I have so many other issues that are more important-getting there fast is my last concern. Until I gain more experience, I doubt even if I will try to get fast enough to plane off. 40-50hp for first motor?