Help! Fish keeps getting off!

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Acebusa, Sep 15, 2009.

1. Acebusa

Acebusa New Member

State:
    mo
    I am new to cut baits, but It seems to get big hits, the only problem is i cant set the hook! I am use to liver and worms, with them I would be anchored off, and have my pole in a holder, once it bent over the hook was set, and the fight was on. I have used shad head this week end and the last couple of nights, I would get a big hit, then I would pick it up give it a jerk to set the hook, and would have a fight for about 5 sec. then he would get off, This happned 5 times, and no fish, what am I doing wrong, should I let him run for a bit before I set the hook?

2. brownie525

brownie525 New Member

State:
    Nj
    what kind of hooks are you using? how are you hooking the shad head? do you have good hook point exposure? It could also be turtles or small fish.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2009

3. bnewsom71

bnewsom71 New Member

State:
    Mathervill
    Sounds to me like a gar.

4. SWeiss

SWeiss New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    I had the same problem when I fished in AR last week. I had an awesome run, rod bent double, big fish. I reeled in on him, pumped the rod, and in less than a minute he was gone. My fishing partners told me it was probably a gar. For some reason you can't get a hook into those damn things.

I don't have those problems here in PA, and we don't have many gar either.

It is frustrating, my friend.

5. Acebusa

Acebusa New Member

State:
    mo
    Definatly not a gar, It is in a Lake i fish often, no gar in this lake, not a small fish either, almost lost my pole it took it hard, hook exposure may be the issue, I hooked it through the center about throug the gills, maybe the bait is sliding down and pushing the hook out of the mouth. Should I setup a trailer hook, or just get better hooks? Never had this problem with liver since its soft and hook exposure is a sure thing.

6. SWeiss