The United States Catfish Association Forum and Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post

Hi fellow catfishers and thanks for allowing me to join and learn. I am really new to the cat fishing scene. I started watching kayak catfish and catfish Dave on YouTube and I got the itch. Bought the gear and went out chasing bait in November, first fishing trip in December. I’ve managed very little bait. Best I’ve caught is shad and suckers. most shad are only 4-6 inches when the water was down off topside. Now I cannot catch shad anywhere. And I’ve only hooked one skipjack and dang thing got off. I did find someone who sells skipjack, however not being able to fish when I want to due to the lack of bait sucks. When I caught bait in the winter I managed to catch a couple flatheads on sucker and some blues on small shad. If anyone could send me in the right direction where I could cast net shad or catch skipjack I’d be so very grateful. By the way I live in West Knoxville not to far from admiral Farragut Park. My ultimate goal is to catch a 40# catfish before I relocate to Alabama in January 2021.

By the way, I’m a shore fisherman and Fort Loudoun Dam is closed to fishing due to virus.

Thanks in advance, Dave

·
Administrator
10,647 Posts
Dave, generally concrete boat ramps are good to try. Shad eat the algae off of the concrete. And this time of year, the back of coves where the water is warmer is good. I think your water is in the 60 to 70 there. That is about all I can tell you. As you have seen on the youtube channels you mentioned, White bass and blue gill will also work. As far as catfishing there, find a place where you can cast to the drop-off. That is a better zone for cats.

·
Administrator
10,647 Posts