Help a new guy out!---Richmond KY

Discussion in 'LOCAL KENTUCKY TALK' started by Mitch2388, Apr 6, 2009.

1. Mitch2388

Mitch2388 New Member

State:
    Inwood, West Vi
    Hi all, I got hooked on catfishing last November, but I'm still new to the sport (big time salt-water guy, but land locked at the moment :sad2:). I've been hitting up Lake Reba near Richmond quite a bit, but without much luck, (although I did manage to hook up with a channel cat that was about 10 lbs., but the line on my rod was old, and i fought him a little bit to hard). I was wondering if anyone could give me advice about Lake Reba, and about catfishing during April in general. I have been using chicken liver in about 20 feet of water with little luck (small guys keep tearing my bait apart). I hooked up with that large one in the same area on liver, but other than that no luck with the exception of annoying half pound fish.

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Mitch Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois. Someone will chime in from your area on the lake question. I look forward to reading your post.:0a23::0a25::0a25:

3. slippedcork

slippedcork New Member

State:
    Marion Co Kentucky
    Wish I could help mitch but I dont know anything about that lake. April is an excellent month to catch alot of catfish though.

4. katfish ken

katfish ken New Member

State:
    Paintsvill
    Welcome to the BOC. As for Lake Reba I can't help with particulars. You might want to try live or fresh cut bait for the bigger fish. The 1/2 #ers wont bother you as bad.Chicken livers attract the little fellows as well as bluegills.

5. DANZIG

DANZIG New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    Hey Mitch, there got ya working over at the BG Depot?

I lived down there(irvine rd) for a couple of years, hit the KY river you will be much happier.

6. shadchucker

shadchucker New Member

State:
    indiana