hefner lake fishing

Discussion in 'OKLAHOMA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by river cat, Jun 29, 2008.

1. river cat

river cat New Member

State:
    Yukon Ok
    I'm new to lake fishing for cats. Move from Arksansa where I river fished. Lake Hefner is my closed Lake. Any advice about boat fishing the lake would be welcome! River cat

2. fr8dog

fr8dog New Member

State:
    OK
    Welcome to OKC. Hefner is my "weekend and holiday" lake because they don't have waterski/jetskis out there. Two places that I do fairly well are the flats around Stars & Stripes park, on the SE corner and the inlet area on the SW side. I normally just drift around with cut shad and manage to get c-cats. They don't let you throw a net there, so you'll have to find a place to get them.

Call Jones & Jones Bait. Just got off the phone with him. He has a 24 hour bait shop open now. 405-722-3443. Carl and Brandon are the experts at Hefner. They'll set you up. He doesn't sell lake passes yet, but Academy on 63rd does.

3. river cat

river cat New Member

State:
    Yukon Ok
    Thanks fr8frog. I'll try drifting. Never drift before but have read a lot about how to drift fish in Catfish Insider magizne. river cat

4. river cat

river cat New Member

State:
    Yukon Ok
    Sorry about the miss spelling fr8dog. river cat

5. BMills13

BMills13 New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    There are some good river channel swings along the east side of the lake, in front of the restaurants. The north side of the lake has some deeper water with contour changes. The wind direction will greatly dictate where you're gonna fish on hefner. Drift socks 'll be a must on most days.

6. river cat

river cat New Member

State:
    Yukon Ok
    thanks Bmills13, I don't have a drift sock. Would draging a light anchor work? River cat

7. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    Welcome to the boc, this site is full of good info and great people

8. catman george