Having trouble with Small river flathead catfish

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by JAinSC, Feb 28, 2007.

1. JAinSC

JAinSC Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I have been fishing for several years on the lower, tidal reaches of the Edisto and the Santee Rivers and I'm doing pretty well on the flatheads (average about 5 flatheads per night, genearlly with at least a 20, couple of 40+ pound fish per season). The Edisto down there is about 50 to 75 yards wide (75 to 100 yards wide for the Santee) and the depths are like 5 feet on the flats with holes to 15 on the Edisto and some 30 foot holes on the Santee.

Lat two years I have tried a few trips to the upper Edisto, probably 60 miles upstream from the area I usually fish. The river up there is maybe 40 to 70 feet wide and ranges in depth from shoals that wont' float a jonboat to 15 foot holes on the sharp bends. The current up there also tends to run pretty fast, except during thelowest water of summer.

The thing is, I have only managed to catch a couple of small (5 pounds or less) flatheads in the upper river, and most trips I have caught none. Are there any secrets to fishing small rivers for flatheads? I've tried the holes, eddies, runs, etc. Are small river fish more likely to feed at a different time of the day or night, or in any paricular type of habitat? I'd really appreciate any advice anyone can offer.

2. rockbass

rockbass New Member

State:
    Ohio
    In my experience, there are no secrets. If you are fishing areas that should hold flatties and they just aren't biting, it coudl be they just aren't real abundant that far upstream from where you were fishing. Possibly not as much foarge for them to be attracted to that area. If the baitfish aren't in there, the cats won't be either. In areas where I fish, I see bait fish moving when the fish are biting. Other areas you don't see anything and of course don't do well on cats.