HAS THIS HAPPEN TO YOU

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by KATTERMAN, Aug 26, 2009.

1. KATTERMAN

KATTERMAN New Member

State:
    OKLA
    couple mornings ago went fishing. was fishing close to bank on small river,got a bite but miss the fish & lost bait,baited back up and threw in same spot no logs or anything just open water and it had'nt been there
    five mins and got a bite again got hook up it was a 9lb flat,then last night
    across the river i put a bait about 3' from bank and got a bite missed the
    fish and lost bait same thing happen i baited back up and put it back in same place as the first bite and in a few mins got a bite and hooked up
    got 18lb flat.what i am asking more experianced flathead fishermen.when
    you get a bite and miss the fish does it always pay to bait back up and throw in same spot.new to this flathead fishing and just trying to learn all i can,thanks

2. festus

festus New Member

I'm no flathead expert or a catfish expert of any type, or even a fishing expert of any species, but yes, if you get a bite and miss one, throw a bait back into the same spot, no telling what's schooled up in there.

3. catfishscotty

catfishscotty Well-Known Member

State:
    mo
    omg yessssssssss indeed

just like bass fishin the first strike ya miss him the 2nd attempt may miss him again

but sooner or later hes gonna get ticked off and smash the bait !!!

flatheads love to kill baits and screw with them ,, they will crush your bait and suck it in and out sometimes forever im talking 15 minutes or more ..

infact when they are doing this ya might try to tick him off and just bring your bait back a foot or so and let it set sometimes if ya move your bait when they are just killin it to be killin it that makes them mad and more agressive and take it better .

ive noticed small flatheads are not as bad on doing this but flatheads over 15 lbs sometimes will drive ya crazzy they way they bite ..