Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
727 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am an engineer. My head never stops working. I got some ideas the other day on how to make some hooks that may increase the hook gap in the bait fish. I made them out of clothes hangers and heated the metal to make it harder. I was wondering if anyone has ever tried to make their own hooks or do this. Let me know.

·
Registered
727 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the support guys. I wasn't sure how this idea would go over. I will post some pictures and the fish I catch if they do indeed work. I am pretty excited to get out there and try them out.

·
Registered
131 Posts
i make my own lunch and breakfast every evening for the next day at work and i consider that an accomplishment. So to answer the question no. I did onetime however get really frustrated when i was young and throw rocks at fish in the stream, it didn't work and now i know how the cavemen must have felt. good luck with your hooks. PS the fish are still mockin me and i'm still loookin for just the right rock and when i do.... watch out fish!

·
Registered
7,182 Posts
When I was in grade school, a friend and I lost all our hooks to snags. We went to the shop on the farm and made hooks outa coat hanger, we didn't have any barb on them, so we lost about all the fish. Then we got pitch forks and tried to spear carp. I'd be interested in seeing how your hooks work, and how you make the barb.

I modified some 4/0 long shank hooks to give me better hook up before I started using circle hooks.

·
Registered
727 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
When I was in grade school, a friend and I lost all our hooks to snags. We went to the shop on the farm and made hooks outa coat hanger, we didn't have any barb on them, so we lost about all the fish. Then we got pitch forks and tried to spear carp. I'd be interested in seeing how your hooks work, and how you make the barb.