Harris Lake(North Carolina) - using bread for bait?

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by sew5959, Mar 17, 2006.

1. sew5959

sew5959 New Member

State:
    north carolina
    i am new to the web sight, but i have been cat fishing for about 3 years now, mostly around the Smithfield area in the neuse river. i am wanting to try some lake fishing and was told to try harris lake. i was also told that using bread for bait was the way to go. can anyone back that up or have any other suggestions for that lake?

2. CMJ

CMJ Guest

Hey Shaun, I believe I would go with some kind of fresh cut bait. I think that would work better. Shad if you can get it. Good luck

3. catfishrus

catfishrus New Member

State:
    north carolina
    im with jeff on this one but i have caught catfish on bread around piers where people feed the fish. bread just seems to hard to keep on the hook when bottom fishing.

4. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    Carry you a pound of FRESH jumbo shrimp. Don't shell em , just run a 3/0 to 5/0 hook right through them from head to tail. Well worth the 6 bucks or so.
    Shrimp has always been a good bait at Harris for channels , bullheads, and even some nice flatheads.
    Large minnows work well too or some of the resident threadfin shad.

5. shawn_donna

shawn_donna New Member

State:
    rutherfordton nc
    where is harris lake

6. sew5959

sew5959 New Member

State:
    north carolina
    Thanks Guys For All The Help, You Are Right About Bread Being Hard To Keep On The Hook. Harris Lake Is In New Hill Off Of Highway 64 Between Cary And Sanford Nc. It Is Actually A Very Nice And Clean Lake To Spend The Day Tubing Or Skiing. The Only Bad Thing Is That The Main Boat Ramp Is Small And Very Narrow. But There Is Not Much Traffic. I Cant Wait To Try Out All Of Your Ideas, Thanks A Lot. Mark J Do You Have Any Suggestions As To How Deep To Fish Or Where To Try. Thank You Again To Everyone.

7. bigblaze