Handling Big Blue catfish

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by Catfishqueen, Sep 4, 2005.

1. Catfishqueen

Catfishqueen New Member

State:
    Upper Marlboro, MD
    I am new to the BOC. I just caught my bigget blue, 38 lbs in the rappahannock river, VA. What is the best way to handle these big fish? Do they bite if you pick them up with your hand in their mouth? Or might picking them up by their gills be better? I have been able to handle the smaller fish but the big blues are a challenge :D

2. kcgeoff

kcgeoff New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Yes blues will bite and they will bite hard! I always wear a glove when grabbing them. Try not to hold them by the gills if your going to release them. Grabbing them in the gils can damage the gills.

3. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    welcome aboard queen.

4. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    You can take it like a fool and grab them in there mouth like me. So you can prove to everyone you got a biggen sense you have hamburger fingers. I broke down and got a lindy kevlar glove now. :) Although I don't always have it with me. I always have my burkley boga scale thing though in the boat. It swivles so it don't put your hand in a bind when they start to twist. It also weighs the fish for you. I Never put my hand in there gills unless there ones being kept.

No Pain No Gain

5. Cuz

Cuz New Member

State:
    DeSoto, MO