Handle slips when reeling in fish

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by iluvcatfishin, Jun 30, 2008.

1. iluvcatfishin

iluvcatfishin New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I have a few ambassadeur reels and on all them the handle slips when I hold the spool and turn the handle. I am assuming this is normal since all of mine do this, even the new ones. I have a 5000, 6000 and 6600 D5.

My question is this. On my 6000 the handle slips worse than the others. I was reeling in a 4 lb cat today and the handle was slipping when I was reeling him. This doesnt seem right, especially with fish that size. Is there a way to prevent any slipping at all?

Also, on my 6600, with my star wheel set as tight as it will go I can grab the line and pull it out without much pressure. The drags on the others are decent but even when I tighten them all the way I can pull the line out. Is this normal with these reels?

2. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    Sounds like you have braided line on them. If thats the case when you put it on ya need to put a small amount of mono on first or wind the braid on a couple of times and tape it down to the reel with electrical tape and then continue to wind the rest of the line on TIGHT, TIGHT,TIGHT. The tighter the better. I did the same thing first time with braid.

3. crab

crab New Member

State:
    Ironton,Ohio
    I have 2 6600 c4 and they dont do that but they have the new carbon matrix drag. I have a 6000 and I can barley pull out the line with the drag torqued down.

4. iluvcatfishin

iluvcatfishin New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I dont have braided line on them. I have 30# big game on them. Its not the line slipping on the spool its the handle itself slipping. If I press down on the spool with my thumb and turn the handle the handle turns.

5. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    Im not sure what it would be then, ya might want to go to a tackle shop and let them take a look. Hope this helps.