Hand Held Depth finders

Discussion in 'LOCAL ILLINOIS TALK' started by 187um, Feb 2, 2009.

1. 187um

187um New Member

State:
    west frankfort, ill
    so someone was telling me there are hand held depth finders it was in an e-mail but i am wondering if i can get all your thoughts on them, used them, and mostly can i use it at any river or lake from the bank??:confused2:

2. centexcop

centexcop Well-Known Member

State:
    Texas
    They do make them. You can rig the rig the transducer up to a float. I've never used one from the bank though. Do a google search for "handheld fish finder" or "portable fish finder".

3. bwhupp

bwhupp New Member

State:
    Belleville
    I have no experience or in truth seen one used.. I'd be interested to see how they are.

4. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent
    There are a couple models that you cast the transducer out from rod and reel and it is remote signal back to the unit..... I have seen one type a fella had at Coffeen and well, all I would say is save your money to buy a boat.

5. 187um

187um New Member

State:
    west frankfort, ill
    yea i am tryin to some reason it just didn't seem right to me. but i agree with the boat thing anyway. just tough i have no way to pull one right now so if you've noticed all my posts have been about bank fishing but all the same you will find me along any shorline with water and fish in those waters!! you and all the guys out here have been awesome with info just wanted to say thanks 2 all of you......thanks!!:smile2:

6. micus

micus New Member

State:
    Lake St. L
    I got one and used it a few times. It worked OK but broke down too quickly; I don't recommend them.

7. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent