Greenup Pool

Discussion in 'WEST VIRGINIA RIVER TALK' started by WV_Catfisherman, Jul 17, 2009.

1. WV_Catfisherman

WV_Catfisherman New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    hello. what a great website. im new to the BOC and its nice to be able to talk to locals about the fishing around here. i just got me a boat last week, needs a little work before its river ready, and am ready to get off the bank and start fishing. i live 5 minutes from the guyandotte boat dock, so im starting to get excited. my bro-in-law is wanting to go to the greenup pool and fish, and we dont know where it is. any help/directions you guys could give would be greatly appreciated. ive never caught a big catfish from the river so am wanting to hook into one. also any suggestions for bait to use would be great. thanks alot.

2. MiseryMike

MiseryMike New Member

State:
    Blue Springs
    Just Wanted to Say Welcome to the Boc :wink:

3. BassinWv

BassinWv New Member

State:
    WV
    Welcome to the BOC

4. DANZIG

DANZIG New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    "my bro-in-law is wanting to go to the greenup pool and fish, and we dont know where it is."

Welcome to the BOC,,, Now, are you ready to feel silly?? You live right beside it.

Yep, no kidding. Everything from the Greenup locks up to the RC Byrd( Gallipolis locks) IS the Greenup Pool.

Now, if you are looking for the Greenup Locks and Dam,,, just hop the river, hang a left onto Ohio 52 and you will run right into it. The dam has a bridge that goes over the river to Greenup KY. The fishing area is on the Ohio side. http://www.lrh.usace.army.mil/projects/locks/gro/

5. WV_Catfisherman

State:
    West Virginia