Great morning on CJ Brown

Discussion in 'OHIO LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Doctor, Jun 16, 2006.

1. Doctor

Doctor Member

State:
    Springfield, Ohio
    It started out slow, bait was easy to get Shad are spawning on the lake and are all over those retaining walls, went back on the North end and didn't get a bump noticed on the way back that I had marked some good arches about a hundred yards before the humps so i went out there and set-up a drift pattern along the creek channel in 30 foot of water, wind was blowing out of the South so it was going the right way and I stayed right in the channel.

I'm still learning this drifting technique but the rigs that I used all came from members of the BOC on there input about how to drift. Caught 6 fish, largest was a 12# Bluecat, the other five were all 10# Channel cats and I think I may have caught one of them twice he hit about thirty seconds after I released him and I saw a streak on the depth finder then the rod went down. Looked like he may have headed right back down to the channel and picked up the bait.

Drifting is not my most favorite thing to do but I need to learn the technique for use on the river when there is no current.

I was dragging Shad heads about 18 inches off the bottom along the channel line, using a 2 foot leader with a float attached to it and a 18 inch dropper line with a 3 oz. bolt weight.

None of the fish showed any signs of spawning but they have been feeding a lot.

When I used the Shad body portions the rods would just jiggle like crazy in the holders and the bait would be gone when they stopped so that could have been Perch or White bass working.

Doc

2. teaysvalleyguy

teaysvalleyguy New Member

State:
    GC, OHIO
    Sounds like a good morning Doc, congrats on the catches. Nice to hear Shad are still easy to come by out there.

3. RiverKing

RiverKing Active Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    I didnt even know that CJ had bluecats in it

4. Doctor

Doctor Member

State: