Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I have numerous favorite baits, one of my all-time favorites is a nice fresh grasshopper. I've been using them as bait all of my life. In the summer, when there are lots of grasshoppers available, I'll go out and catch a jar full of them before I go fishing. We own a stock tank that is about 4 surface acres of water and contains channel cats, bass, crappie, and perch. When nothing else seems to be working as bait, I can always count on a grasshopper to get a quick bite. I've been using them as bait for about 40 years now and I don't know of any species of freshwater fish that won't instantly try to devour a nice fresh grasshopper that is offered as bait. The big yellow ones, about 2 1/2 inches long, seem to be particulary enticing to fish. It's not often that a grasshopper will last me for more than one cast....something will snatch it up quick!

· Registered
188 Posts
Grasshoppers are excellent bait! I have only started fresh water fishing again in the last year or so and forgot about that. I used to use them all them time when I was a kid because I had to catch my own bait if I wanted to fish.

· Registered
89 Posts
How do you hook a grasshopper without killing it, or does that matter? And can you fish the bottom with them?

· Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I stick the hook in through the underside of the thorax (the little square-shaped part that the legs are attached to) and then run it through the abdomen (tail). Insects can live for quite a while with hooks stuck through them and they can even survive for a good while without drowning. Usually something eats them before they have a chance to drown. Sure, they work just fine on the bottom.

· Registered
89 Posts
Thanks, once the grasshoppers start hoppin around here I'm going to give them a shot.
Dean.

· Registered
188 Posts