GPS and Advice

Discussion in 'LOCAL TEXAS TALK' started by capnmorgan, Nov 30, 2006.

1. capnmorgan

capnmorgan New Member

State:
    Texas
    I'm thinking about getting a GPS for keeping up with spots. Anyone think its a good tool. And if so how user friendly are they? I'm not a techie type

2. duxsrus

duxsrus New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    Mine is about as important to me as my boat key or my wallet. I've used an Etrex Legend for a couple years now and I love it.

3. capnmorgan

capnmorgan New Member

State:
    Texas
    You look like a duck hunter. do you use it while duck hunting too?

4. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    GPS ? ABSOLUTELY ! I have 2 of them.

I have a Garmin GPSmap 76c. It has 24 MB of memory available and I have loaded it with the TOPO maps of my entire state. It has an altimiter and barometer. I not only use it for my non-boat fishing, but for tracking with my hounds and all other outdoor activities too.

My fish finder has a GPS on it as well and I use that while fishing to plot my hot spots and to be able to return to the exact spots where I picked up fish. It also is an excellent and very accurate method to monitor trolling speed.

I would definitely recommend one for what ever your outdoor activity might be.

5. FishBrew

FishBrew New Member

State:
    North Texas
    Good post Dave ... since I'm in the market as well. For fishing, I really don't need one that has a fishfinder (mounted to boat combo type) since I like the fish finder that is currently on my boat. So trying not to waste money, I'm assuming that brings me to the hand held types. Main options I'm looking for, able to plot/store in memory and have preloaded maps of "my" lakes.
    I just starting looking into this, so my ignorance meter is pegged. From what I have read, there are different companies that make/sell the maps.