Got into some carp

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by massa_jorge, Jun 24, 2007.

1. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    just got back from the lake. nothing was biting worth a darn so i figured i'd try some carp. i used a 1/34th ounce jig with bread on it, after i baited them up to the dock with bread. caught four from 4 to 12 pounds. now i have some cat bait for this afternoon.

2. James Bentley

James Bentley New Member

State:
    N.C.
    hey Massa jorge,does carp make a good cut bait for cats,I am new to all this:embarassed:

3. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    yeah it's pretty good bait. i put it right up there with shad, and it's more durable.
    scale, fillet, leave the skin on and cut the ribs out. cut the fillet into 1 or 2 inch chunks, bigger for blues. you can also use strips but i use circle hooks so i want as much bait as possible in the fish's mouth when they run.
    marinate overnight in fresh crushed garlic and 1/4 cup vegetable oil, make sure you keep it cool so the meat and skin don't separate.
    the oil makes a slick and channel cats really tear it up. i think of all the carp i have shot or wasted or whatever, and man i could have caught a bunch of fish on them. i don't pitch any unwanted fish on the bank anymore, but still...

oh if you want you can use it without marinating, it works this way too. cats have a hard time getting it off the hook because the skin is so tough.

it's one of my go to baits now.

4. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    oh welcome to the boc eddie!

5. James Bentley

James Bentley New Member

State:
    N.C.
    Thanks for the info. Massa jorge,until last month all I had used was chicken livers,night crawers,crickets and shad,carp will be next,thanks

6. D_Weezy

D_Weezy Active Member

State:
    Cadiz, Ohio
    Name:
    Dale