Got a new smoker

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by calogan, Nov 10, 2009.

1. calogan

calogan New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I got a new smoker for my birthday, and wondering what where some of peoples favorite recipes, and any good tips. I'm brand new to smoking meat so any tips or tricks of the trade are appreciated. I have been eating and enjoying it all my life though:wink:

2. puddle jumper

puddle jumper Well-Known Member

State:
    NW.Georgia
    Hey Curt,
    Conrats man,, I love the Q,
    Im building a war wagon "smoker, fryer & boiler eye on a trailer" right now, post pics when its done,
    Go over to the BOC Diner "section, lots of good stuff there,,,:wink:
    Puddle

http://www.catfish1.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=261
    :big_smile:

Last edited: Nov 10, 2009

3. bownero

bownero New Member

State:
    Hastings, Ne.
    There's alot of great books out there on BBQ and smoking meat. Maybe check out Amazon.com for a list. It's just alot of experimenting with the smoker to get the temp and cooking time. After a few tries. it will come together for ya. I own a Chargriller BBQ/Smoker with the side fire box. I love using different wood chunks and chips for added flavor. I'll smoke a brisket for 8-10 hrs, using hickory and apple wood. Spaying the meat with apple juice sometimes. The rub I use, I found in a BBQ book I own.

4. calogan

calogan New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Thanks! I was wondering if there was a cooking section, never found it myself....:confused2:

5. calogan

calogan New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Thanks! Thats the grill that I got too! How do you like it?

6. bownero

bownero New Member

State:
    Hastings, Ne.