Got a motor but dont know what to do with it ! help??

Discussion in 'Boating' started by Montgomery, Aug 9, 2007.

1. Montgomery

Montgomery New Member

State:
    OHIO
    i bought a 14 foot semi v bottom 1968 alumacraft. it came it a 3 h.p. evinrude motor. it had a trash bag duct taped around it. i hadn't even looked at it until i had the boat home. but once i took the bag off. the motor looked great. looks like it should work, lol. no i have no boating experience . and no , no how of motors auto or boat. not even sure what type of gas goes in it . hopeing you all could tell me . but cant i ruin it somehow . by trying to start it out of water. is there any advice on that things i should do to this motor. and whats the proper way of doing things . i would love to use it . but i dont want to take it to a shop either . to much money . any tips or advice for a new guy, not wanting to blow up his new used motor. thanks mike

2. FATFLATTIE

FATFLATTIE New Member

State:
    ILM, NC
    You may be able to start the engine out of water if it's air cooled. Some of the older smaller motors were air cooled. However, you're right if it's water cooled you could mess it up big time if you run it out of water. I'm not much help as far as getting the thing started if it's not running but I just thought I'd give you my 2 cents. Oh, and I bet it's 2cycle so you need mixed fuel to put in it.

3. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    First off Mike look on the transom bracket . that is the bracket that holds the motor on the boat and there will be a data plate with two sets of numbers on it. I need the model number to see how old she is and then we can figure out what fuel mix you will need.
    By no means start that engine out of water or on the muffs either one with out the proper mix.