goodpanfish line on spin reel

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by urrdone, Apr 19, 2008.

1. urrdone

urrdone New Member

State:
    wisconsin
    ok fellas, i grew up using old zebcos and recently in the past season or 2 have been trying to switch to spinning reels. problem is i get alot of backlash and birdnests. im using a 6' 6" rod with a shimano spin reel(one with a trigger on the bail). its my all around setup that i use for walleye, bluegill, carp, what have you. i feel kinda stupid because im not good at casting with it. i need a good limp line with little memory thats easy to cast, and maybe some tips on the best way to spool up the reel so as not to get line twist which seems to be another problem im having.
    :embarassed:

2. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    Mike first off welcome to the best outdoors site on the net. As far as line goes, i've used p-line for years and really like it. When i spool up new line, i run a pencil thru the new spool and make somebody hold it so the line comes off the top. After i get it within a 1/16 inch of the top of the spool , i stop there. Also, i like to tie it to a mailbox of something and walk backwards till it all unwinds. Then hold tension and wind it back up. This stretching will help remove memory. Also if ya happen to have twist while on the lake, just flip the bail and motor till it unwinds and crank it back up. This will remove any twist. Didn't mean to write a novel, but this is how i do it and hope it helps you also. john

3. orion_xxvx

orion_xxvx New Member

State:
    North Central Missouri
    I take those triggers off ..........they just get in my way!! Mr. Crappie Camo line 6 lb test is what i like. About 8 bucks for over 1700 yds. sold at bp.

4. Defender

Defender New Member

State:
    Hastings, Nebraska
    On my light spinning rigs I use braided line like Berkley's Fireline. I have also been quite happy with mono line such as Trilene XL.