Good carp tackle

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by daredevle, Oct 14, 2007.

1. daredevle

daredevle New Member

State:
    south carolina
    hey guys im new to carp fishing and i want to know some good carp set ups for bank fishing like give me line rod reel types you get the drift so thanks for the info:wink: oh btw the carp im fishing for are like 4 to 6 feet ling and i think there brown or grass carp thanks

2. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    I use several different setups but one of my favorites is a diawa beefstick, there cheap, 25 bucks. I use a 4500 shimano baitrunner with 30# braid on it. Hope this helps.

3. ibohunter

ibohunter New Member

State:
    southeast, pa
    It all depends on your type of fishing, clearance problems a shorter rod, if no problems a 12 foot rod in the 3# class, and yes the Shimano 4500 is the reel. 30# power pro line and hair rigs.

4. rspd507

rspd507 New Member

State:
    Rising Sun,IN
    Chris,
    I always used an ugly stick rod about 6'6 in length with an abu garcia 6000 baitcast reel. Id use as little weight as possible according to the amount of current. Have the sinker so it will slip on the line about 6 or 8 inches above a liter with a small hook, no bigger than 3/0. This setup has landed me some nice carp near the 30 pound range. Hope this helps you out. rspd507

5. GMC FishHauler

GMC FishHauler New Member

State:
    Waco, Texas, Un
    i use just standard bass tackle. I have alot of the bass combos that i hardly use anymore and they work great for carp and buffs.

6. Ketch

Ketch New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I use my bass tackle for carp fishing as well. 6'6" flipping stick. I normally go for as light of line as possible on everything I catch except cats and muskie though and usually fish carp with 8-10 lb test

7. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan